Start-up since 1949 – OTTO’s past. And future.

It all started in 1949 – with a catalogue and a few pairs of shoes. Werner Otto wrote history in the German post-war era. And today OTTO continues the story.

The future
 

OTTO is well on track. For the next few years the continued expansion of the business model towards becoming a platform will be the focus of our company strategy. This means we are opening up to even more partners, will be offering even more products on the OTTO platform – and want to be by our customers’ side in every area of their lives.


The progress of our culture change is also behind this development. Testing new business ideas and concepts live with our customers instead of building long-winded theoretical con-cepts will be one of the core elements of the ‘learning organisation’ that OTTO is continually developing and becoming. An initial and very tangible example is OTTO NOW: this new start-up business model based on ‘rent-not-buy’ has gone live in just a few months and has been proving the future viability of the Sharing Economy ever since.

Voice Commerce, Augmented Reality and Artificial Intelligence – at OTTO the technological transformation is firmly embedded in our organisation. Data Analysts, Reporting Designers, Developers and Product Managers not only work in our BI and Online Marketing teams but also in various functions right across the company. Their goal is clear: use technology to provide OTTO’s customers, partners and employees with orientation in the daily digital jungle. In brief: shaping the digital future together.

2001-today
Transformation
 

OTTO recognises early on that the Internet is much more than just a new sales channel – it’s radically reshaping business as well as society itself. OTTO is also changing step by step and seizing the opportunities offered by the digital world: in 2007 the company already has 500,000 articles online, and just a year later online revenues top the traditional sales channels for the first time, with otto.de generating over 50 percent of annual revenues.


Things are moving in terms of communication too, and from 2009 OTTO can also be found on Facebook and Twitter. Back then, in Germany social networks were just beginning to gain traction. The online retailer begins to use these networks to broadcast marketing stimuli and news – and is also one of the very first companies to provide genuine customer service via these channels too. Today, social media are taken for granted as an OTTO Service contact channel.


A new marketing approach is also in tune with the times, and in 2008 TwoforFashion is the first OTTO blog to go live: the approach here is based on interesting articles and content in-stead of advertising. The concept is a great success and still is today. Via a total of five blogs and several YouTube formats, OTTO is delivering very effective content marketing.


Amongst all this, online shop technology continues to develop at a fierce pace. In 2013 OTTO programmes its own Webshop software in-house, to be able to react flexibly to the require-ments of the digital world. The very first – rather pixelly – WAP-based online shop has rein-vented itself for the smartphone screen, and from 2014 onwards otto.de is now even fully responsive and optimised for every device and application – whether PC, tablet, or smartphone. In 2017 already more than half all visits to otto.de are made via smartphones.

1991-2000
evolution
 

While ‘that Internet thing’ remains a rather obscure game for nerds, OTTO launches its first digital offers. In 1995 otto.de is launched, together with shopping offers on CD-ROM. With fully animated presenters and multimedia features OTTO is genuinely blazing a trail via the PC.


In 2000 OTTO is even reachable via the fist WAP-enabled mobile phones, before anyone has even begun talking about smartphones. It quickly becomes clear that ‘New Media’, as they are called both internally and externally, are far more than just an amusing game or an add-on service – they have the potential to trigger a genuine paradigm shift and create new business models. In 1997 online orders already represent around seven percent of the company’s over-all revenues – some 450 million Deutschmarks, with the growth trend pointing strongly up-wards.

1980-1990
the global company
 

The second generation of the Otto family lays the foundations of the Otto Group as an inter-national retail and services group. In 1981 Werner’s son Michael becomes Chairman of the Executive Board, builds businesses in France, Austria and Italy, and takes a stake in SportScheck and many other companies.

By the middle of the 1980s it’s official: Otto is now the world’s largest mail-order company. Dr Michael Otto firmly anchors a sustainable approach to resources and the environment within the company strategy – and this measure is still in full force today. Michael Otto and his company, which he now accompanies from the Supervisory Board, remain committed to environmental protection and are engaged on behalf of societal initiatives.

1960-1979
expansion
 

In 1969 the company moves to Hamburg’s Bramfeld neighbourhood, after an interim period in Hamburg-Hamm, and today still has its headquarters here. The move to the new Group HQ reflects the sheer pace of growth in Werner Otto’s mail-order business – driven by new ser-vices such as the telephone-order hotline, which from 1963 sets Otto apart from other pro-viders, to the introduction of the first electronic data-processing systems that automate many processes.


In parallel to this Werner Otto structures his company more and more as a group, founding the Hanseatic Bank in 1969 to handle the company’s own payment processes, and the Hermes Versand-Service in 1972 – Otto’s own parcel-logistics company. By the beginning of the 70s revenues have topped one billion Deutschmarks, and by 1978 have tripled this figure.

1949-1959
the beginnings
 

A start-up since 1949 – after the war Werner Otto believes in his own ‘economic miracle’ and establishes Werner Otto Versandhandel in Hamburg’s Schnelsen neighbourhood. The very first catalogue – with 28 pairs of shoes and 14 pages – issued in 1950 is today a real-life leg-end. Order from home, and pay on invoice? The business model is a roaring success!


Business is going so well that the Otto team expands the assortment to include durable goods. From 1956 onwards customers can also order bicycles and electrical appliances. Rev-enues are now climbing at breathtaking speed and reach 100 million Deutschmarks in 1958.

 
 
Awards

Awards

Start-Up seit 1949 -
OTTOs Vergangenheit. Und Zukunft.

Alles begann 1949 – mit einem Katalog und ein paar Schuhen. Werner Otto schrieb deutsche Nachkriegsgeschichte. Heute schreibt OTTO die Geschichte weiter.

Die Zukunft
 

OTTO ist auf dem Weg: In den nächsten Jahren wird der weitere Ausbau des Geschäftsmodells in Richtung Plattform im Fokus der Unternehmensstrategie stehen. Das heißt: Wir öffnen uns für noch mehr Partner, werden noch mehr Produkte auf der OTTO-Plattform anbieten, wollen Kundinnen und Kunden in jedem Bereich ihres Lebens begleiten.

Im Hintergrund dieser Entwicklung steht auch der fortschreitende Kulturwandel: Neue Geschäftsideen und Konzepte live am Kunden zu testen, anstatt sie lange theoretisch zu konzipieren, wird eines der Kernelemente der „lernenden Organisation“ sein, zu der OTTO sich fortlaufend entwickelt. Ein erstes handfestes Beispiel dafür: OTTO NOW. Das neue Start-Up-Geschäftsmodell, das auf „Mieten statt Kaufen“ setzt, ist innerhalb weniger Monate Realität geworden und hat seitdem die Zukunftsfähigkeit der Sharing Economy bewiesen.

Voice Commerce, Augmented Reality und Künstliche Intelligenz: Der technologische Wandel ist bei OTTO fest in der Organisation verankert. Datenanalysten, Reporting Designer, Entwickler und Produktmanager arbeiten nicht nur in unseren BI- und Online-Marketing-Teams, sondern in verschiedenen Funktionen innerhalb der Organisation. Ihr Ziel ist klar: Technologie nutzen, um OTTOs Kunden, Partnern oder Mitarbeitern den digitalen Alltag etwas klarer machen. Oder kurz: gemeinsam die digitale Zukunft gestalten.

2001-heute
Die Transformation
 

OTTO erkennt früh: Das Internet ist mehr als ein neuer Vertriebskanal – es wälzt Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft radikal um. Schritt für Schritt verändert sich auch OTTO und nutzt die Chancen der digitalen Welt: 2007 sind schon 500.000 Artikel im Netz zu haben, ein Jahr später übersteigt der Online-Umsatz erstmals den der traditionellen Vertriebskanäle: mehr als 50 Prozent des Jahresumsatzes kommen von otto.de.

Auch in Sachen Kommunikation tut sich etwas: Ab 2009 ist OTTO auch bei Facebook und Twitter zu finden. Damals waren die Netze in Deutschland noch in der Startphase. Über die sozialen Kanäle verbreitet der Onlinehändler Marketingmotive und News, bietet als eines der ersten Unternehmen aber auch echten Kundenservice an. Heute sind die sozialen Medien ein völlig selbstverständlicher Kontaktkanal zum OTTO-Service.

Dazu passt ein neuer Ansatz im Marketing. Mit TwoforFashion geht 2008 der erste OTTO-Blog an den Start. Der Ansatz: interessante Artikel und Inhalte statt platter Werbung. Das Konzept funktioniert, bis heute. In insgesamt fünf Blogs und mehreren YouTube-Formaten macht OTTO erfolgreiches Content Marketing.

Unterdessen entwickelt sich auch die Shop-Technologie rasant weiter: OTTO programmiert 2013 in-house eine eigene Shop-Software, um flexibel auf die Anforderungen der digitalen Welt zu reagieren. Der erste pixelige WAP-Shop hat sich bereits auf dem Smartphone-Bildschirm neu erfunden, ab 2014 ist otto.de sogar voll und ganz responsive und für jeden Bildschirm optimiert: PC, Tablet, Smartphone, App. 2017 kamen schon mehr als die Hälfte aller Visits auf otto.de über Smartphones.

1991-2000
Die Evolution
 

Während „dieses Internet“ noch eine obskure Spielerei für Technik-Nerds ist, startet OTTO mit ersten digitalen Angeboten: 1995 geht otto.de an den Start, zusammen mit Shopping-Angeboten auf CD-ROM. Mit vollanimierten Presentern und multimedialen Features leistet OTTO echte Pionierarbeit auf dem PC.

Selbst auf den ersten WAP-fähigen Handys ist OTTO 2000 präsent, als von Smartphones noch niemand reden will. Schnell wird klar: Die „Neuen Medien“, wie sie damals nicht nur intern genannt werden, sind nicht nur eine Spielerei, nicht nur ein Extra-Service. Sie haben das Potenzial zu einem echten Musterwechsel, zu neuen Geschäftsmodellen. Schon 1997 machen Bestellungen über das Internet rund sieben Prozent des Gesamtumsatzes aus, das sind rund 450 Millionen D-Mark. Tendenz: stark steigend.

1980-1990
Der Weltkonzern
 

Das Fundament der Otto Group, des internationalen Handels- und Dienstleistungskonzern, legt die zweite Generation der Ottos: 1981 übernimmt Werners Sohn Michael den Vorstandsvorsitz, baut Geschäfte in Frankreich, Österreich und Italien auf und beteiligt sich an SportScheck und vielen anderen Unternehmen. 

Mitte der 1980er-Jahre ist es offiziell: Otto ist der größte Versandhändler der Welt. Dr. Michael Otto verankert einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit Ressourcen und der Umwelt fest in der Unternehmensstrategie - bis heute gilt diese Maßgabe, Michael Otto und sein Unternehmen, das er mittlerweile aus dem Aufsichtsrat begleitet, setzen sich nach wie vor für Umweltschutz ein und fördern gesellschaftliche Projekte.

1960-1979
Die Expansion
 

1969 zieht das Unternehmen nach einer Zwischenstation in Hamburg Hamm um, nach Hamburg Bramfeld, wo es noch heute seinen Hauptsitz hat. Der Umzug in die neue Konzernzentrale steht sinnbildlich für das Tempo, in dem Werner Ottos Versandhandel expandiert – von neuen Services wie der telefonischen Bestellhotline, die Otto ab 1963 von anderen Anbietern abheben, bis zur Einführung der ersten elektronischen Datenverarbeitung, die viele Prozesse automatisiert.

Parallel stellt Werner Otto sein Unternehmen mehr und mehr als Gruppe auf, gründet 1969 die Hanseatic Bank zur Abwicklung des unternehmenseigenen Zahlungsverkehrs und 1972 den Hermes Versand-Service – eine eigene Paketlogistik für Otto. Der Umsatz nimmt unterdessen Anfang der 70er-Jahre die Eine-Milliarde-Mark-Grenze, 1978 ist die Milliarde schon verdreifacht.

1949-1959
Die Anfänge
 

Start-Up seit 1949 – nach dem Krieg glaubt Werner Otto an sein persönliches Wirtschaftswunder und eröffnet den Werner Otto Versandhandel in Hamburg-Schnelsen. Legendär: der erste Katalog von 1950 mit 28 Paar Schuhen auf 14 Seiten. Von zu Hause aus bestellen, und das sogar auf Rechnung? Ein Erfolgsmodell.

Das Geschäft läuft so gut, dass das Otto-Team das Angebot auf Hartwaren erweitert. Ab 1956 gibt’s auch Fahrräder und Elektrogeräte auf Bestellung. Das Business wächst in atemberaubenden Tempo, auf 100 Millionen D-Mark Umsatz im Jahr 1958.

 
 
Auszeichnungen

Auszeichnungen